The Best Things in Life Go Woof

If you’ve ever felt the loss of a pet, you know it’s something that can be very difficult to overcome. It’s tough, because the passing of a pet is not an occasion that many people give you a lot of sympathy for. You can’t take a day off work, you most certainly can’t be caught crying in a corner over it, and the hardest thing is that there’s always that dense individual that rubs salt in the wound and says ‘oh well, you can always get a new one.’ That person has never owned a dog.

My dog Bailey was the embodiment of the word friend. Bailey would sense my feelings, completely unaware that whenever I was sad or in a foul mood, a cuddle from her was the only thing that can cheer me up. This unabashed, blissful life of hers completely swayed and manipulated my own. Each and every time I’d walk down the steps to my front gate, she was there to greet me – albeit the most maddening and irritating welcome in the form of a yap – but it was like she’d missed you for years. The recollection of this makes me never want to walk through my front gate again.

I think the reason why the loss of a pet dog impacts on its owner so severely is that they are integrated into every single day of your life from the moment you bring them home. Everything in my house reminds me of Bailey. She used to sit right on my feet as I’d eat dinner, so now I don’t want to eat. She’d sleep outside my window and I’d hear her snoring, which was annoying and comforting at the same time, but now I can’t sleep. She used to roll around on the concrete in the morning and I’d wake up to her ridiculous growls of pleasure, and now I don’t want to get out of bed. If I went to shower she’d sit right outside the bathroom door and now I don’t want to shower (don’t worry, I also happen to be a hygiene freak so that ones out of the question).

All of these things are attributed to Bailey only. No other dog is like her. Never have Î felt so loved by anyone or anything, this uncritical, completely perpetual and interminable love that was unwavering between the two of us. If I was sad, she’d give me a cuddle with a look of sympathy in her eyes, as if to say ‘I’m here’. But what is so heartbreaking is that, when she was sick, she was so sad, and all I could do was sit with her and cry.

To own a dog brings you not only companionship, but also it is believed to improve your physical and mental health.

I know beyond a doubt that I will be a dog owner for the rest of my life. I cannot envisage a life without one.

P.S. i hate cats, cats suck.

P.P.S. watch this if you want to cry.

 

The Lady Herself

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Best Things in Life Go Woof

  1. Georgia

    Why would you make me cry at work?!

    ps I hate cats too

  2. kellyleemccarren

    wahhhhh oh Caitlin I’m so sorry Bailey is gone 😦 😦 😦 When Schooner died my heart actually physically hurt (as idiotic as that sounds) and I still miss her even though I’ve got my puppy.

    Pets are like people. They provide comfort, joy, love and companionship.

    Ps. Cats do not suck. YOU suck for saying that. 🙂

Leave a comment